4NAIJA: Kevin De Bryne wins Germany Player of the Year

welcome to 4NAIJA

get the latest news update want to get the latest updates on celebrities | sports | Centertainment and more..

Home    Sign up    Log in   About Us   Contact Us

Sunday, 26 July 2015

Kevin De Bryne wins Germany Player of the Year

The Belgian attacking midfielder beat Arjen Robben and Manuel Neuer by a landslide to pick up the award while his boss Dieter Hecking was named best coach.

Kevin de Bruyne has beaten Arjen Robben and Manuel Neuer to the Player of the Year award in Germany by a massive margin.

The Belgium international was the star of the league in 2014-15, guiding Wolfsburg to second place and success in the DFB-Pokal as they beat Borussia Dortmund in the final.

After a stellar campaign, De Bruyne has been linked with a move back to England, with Manchester City said to be heavily interested in him.

De Bruyne netted 10 league goals for Wolfsburg but topped the assist charts with an incredible 20 and created more chances than any other player by some distance.

There was no contest for Kicker 's Player of the Year award, which is voted for by journalists all over the country, as De Bruyne received 367 votes, while Robben clocked 94 and Neuer picked up 67.

"To be voted best player in a country abroad means a lot," De Bruyne told Kicker after hearing the news. "This is the reward for my season."

It was a good day for Wolfsburg all in, as trainer Dieter Hecking was made Coach of the Year with 203 votes, while Augsburg's Markus Weinzierl came in second ahead of Lucien Favre.

Jurgen Klopp was fifth in the rankings despite his side finishing seventh in the league while Bundesliga winning coach Pep Guardiola came in eighth.

No comments:

Post a Comment